Paul D. Camp Community College Holds Nursing Student Pinning Ceremony

PDCCC Pinning 2014 Group
Back row: Cherie Rice of Suffolk , Brittany Spivey of Franklin, Crystal Drake of Franklin, Hillary Brinkley of Suffolk, Stephanie Monroe of Chesapeake, Tanisha Patrick of Chesapeake, Brandon Olson of Carrsville, Taneshia Jenkins of Boykins, Angel Gray of Ivor, Julie Sabo-Tyrell of Suffolk, Amy Rose of Sedley, Chelsea Gephart of Ivor, Kayla Eger of Franklin, and College President Paul Wm. Conco, Ph.D.
Not pictured are Ruth Mwathi of Virginia Beach and Ricky Brockington of Courtland.
Paul D. Camp Community College’s nursing department held a pinning ceremony at the Regional Workforce Development Center in Franklin on Wednesday, May 7, 2014.
The ceremony is designed to recognize the students who have completed the College’s nursing program. The guest speaker was Dennis Vann, Suffolk native, graduate of the PDCCC Nursing Program and Registered Nurse at Sentara Obici Hospital.
Dr. Candace Rogers, RN, Dean of Nursing and Allied Health, said, “We are incredibly proud of these students. Their efforts are to be commended. It’s not easy accomplishing such a task – particularly when many of our students hold down jobs or have parental or other family responsibilities outside of school.”
Rogers, who is retiring July 1 after initiating the Registered Nursing program at the College in 2004, was recognized for her contributions to the nursing programs at PDCCC. She has more than 40 years of nursing experience.
Celebrating this milestone in front at left, are: Tiffany Holden of Franklin, Tiffany Cowan of Suffolk , Lindsey Steigler of Portsmouth, Connie Cook of Suffolk , Chrystal Shumate of Windsor, Bremer Gwaltney of Suffolk, Kierra Butts of Courtland and Shawn Battle of Franklin.
The following are special honors that were awarded that evening:

  • The Dr. Candace Rogers Leadership Award:Chelsea Gephart of Ivor
  • Suffolk Pilot Club Good Citizen Award:Kierra Butts of Courtland
  • Nursing Clinical Excellence Awards:Angel Gray of Ivor and Julie Sabo-Tyrell of Suffolk
  • The Mentorship Award:Ricky Brockington of Courtland
  • The Florence Nightingale Award:Connie Cook of Suffolk
  • Nursing Academic Excellence Awards:Chrystal Shumate of Windsor and Cherie Rice of Suffolk