PDCCC honors fall scholarship recipients

fall 2012 scholarship group

Seated from left: Bria Sweat, Ashley Giorgi, Kecia Taliaferro, Stephen Ayers, and Talisha Jenkins. In back: Mariah Scofield, Tyler Billups, Alexis Powell, Rebecca Ballance, Tiara Robinson, Marcia Morris, Jonathan Defreeuw, PDCCC President Paul Wm. Conco, Kenya Smith, Sadie Simmons, Meredith Coggsdale, Imani Edwards, Matthew Jones, Kela Turner, Jena Araojo and Armirah Stephens.

Paul D. Camp Community College hosted a reception recently to recognize recipients of fall 2012 scholarships. Approximately 80 students, family members and donors attended. Held at the college’s Regional Workforce Development Center, the event also provided an opportunity for participants to meet and network with one another.


The following scholarships were presented at the reception:


Rebecca Ballance

Lawrence M. (Marvin) Farmer Memorial Scholarship (Ms. Jean Perry-Farmer)


Rebecca Ballance

Jim Lassiter PDCCC Faculty Association Scholarship (Mr. David Lydick and Mrs. Karen Rye)


Tyler Billups

Camp to Camp Scholarship (Ruth Camp Campbell Foundation; Camp-Younts Foundation and the Camp Foundation)


Meredith Coggsdale

Camp to Camp Scholarship (Ruth Camp Campbell Foundation; Camp-Younts Foundation and the Camp Foundation)


Mandi Creech

Bertella C. Westbrook Memorial Scholarship for Nursing Students (Franklin Southampton Charities)


Mandi Creech

Suffolk Ruritan Nursing Scholarship


Brittany Eley

Smithfield Luter Scholarship


Ashley Giorgi

Bobby B. Worrell Scholarship (The Elms Foundation, the Hon. Westbrook J. Parker)


Ashley Giorgi

Camp Family Foundations Commonwealth Legacy Scholarship (Virginia Foundation for Community College Education)


Nathan A. Harris

Cross Realty Career Grant (Mr. Harry Cross)


Kimberly Holmes

Donald C. Boyce Education Scholarship (Dr. and Mrs. Douglas Boyce)


Marcia A. Morris

Cross Realty Career Grant (Mr. Harry Cross)


Angela Perry

Dean Nancy Sandberg Scholarship


Angela Perry

PDCCC Classified Personnel Association Scholarship


Angela Perry

American Association of University Women Scholarship, Suffolk Branch


Karen Phippins

Camp to Camp Scholarship (Ruth Camp Campbell Foundation; Camp-Younts Foundation; and the Camp Foundation)


Laurel Pope

Karen Phillips Chase Memorial Nursing Scholarship (Mr. Rusty Chase)


Mariah Scofield

Kiwanis Club of Suffolk Scholarship
Sadie R. Simmons

Dr. Alvin C. Rogers Endowed Scholarship (Ms. Janice Trisolini)


Amanda Slate

Perry W. Barnett Memorial Endowed Scholarship (Ms. Nancy Pindur)


Kenya Smith

Presidential Scholarship (Paul D. Camp Community College)


Kecia Taliaferro

Dr. Douglas W. and Grace Boyce Scholarship


Brittany Thomas

Shirley N. Barnes Scholarship (Dr. Edwin Barnes)


Candace L. Woods

Wal-Mart Community Involvement Scholarship


Dual Enrollment Camp Opportunity Scholarships

(Ruth Camp Campbell Foundation; Camp-Younts Foundation and the Camp Foundation):

  • Jena Araojo
  • Stephen Ayers
  • Demone’ Brickhouse
  • Jonathan Defreeuw
  • Imani Edwards
  • Dayja Harris
  • Talisha Jenkins
  • Matthew Jones
  • Sierra Leickert
  • Lorene Lowe
  • Alexis Powell
  • Tiara Robinson
  • Armirah Stephens
  • Bria Sweat
  • Shaniqua Thorpe
  • Jamaal Tillery
  • Kela Turner
  • Shadeja Wethington
  • Elizabeth Whitehead
  • Katrina Williams