More than $11,000 Raised at the Paul D. Camp Community College Foundation’s 11th Annual Golf Tournament

Britt Webb and Hasty
Teammates Steve Webb, left in back, and Brad Hasty watch as Herbert Britt concentrates on a shot during the 11th annual event.
On Friday, September 5, 70 golfers participated in the 11th Annual Paul D. Camp Community College Foundation Golf Tournament at Sleepy Hole Golf Club in Suffolk. More than $11,000 was raised to aid in student scholarships, and staff and faculty needs. Also, the following were winners at the tournament:
First Flight

  • First Place: Jeff Bird, Jonathon Jackson, Darden Hurt and Jeff Poehls
  • Second Place: Brad Cofer, Mark Cassady, Matt Ridjaneck and William Auman
  • Third Place: Ricky Carr, Steve Ritter, Russ Bradshaw and Wayne Ford

Second Flight

  • First Place: Sandy Mann, Jerry McGinnis, Alex Parker and Frank Wink
  • Second Place: Herbert Britt, Steve Webb, Joe Starling and Brad Hasty
  • Third Place: Ed Miller, William Hewitt and Tex McKinney

Third Flight

  • First Place: Amanda Jarratt, Ronnie West, Barry Porter and Chris Gullickson
  • Second Place: Charles Modlin, Charles Turner, Eric Lehman and Rob Thorndike
  • Third Place: Justin Oliver, Bob Tureman, Mike Forrest and Heather Eckman

In addition to these winners, the following won awards:

  • Darden Hurt:
    • 50/50 Putting Contest winner
  • Rob Thorndike:
    • Closest to Pin
  • Russ Bradshaw:
    • Longest Drive

“We want to thank all of the golfers, sponsors, donors and volunteers who supported this event for our foundation,” said Felicia Blow, Vice President for Institutional Advancement and Executive Director of the Paul D. Camp Community College Foundation.
Serving as the event’s primary sponsors were:

  • Gold Sponsors: Smithfield Foods and Smithfield Farmland
  • Silver Sponsors: Dominion Virginia Power
  • Bronze Sponsors: Bronco Federal Credit Union, Hubbard Peanut Company and Surry Power Station
  • Hole Sponsors: Burgess & Co., PC, CPAs; Duke Automotive; EVB; Farmers Bank; Hubbard Peanut Company; Prime Media; Rawlings Mechanical; Suffolk
    News-Herald; The Tidewater News; and Village at Woods Edge

Jackson Hurt Bird and Poehls
Photo Information:
Members of the Smithfield-Farmland team who earned first place winner in the first flight, from left, are: Jonathon Jackson, Darden Hurt, Jeff Bird and Jeff Poehls.