Paul D. Camp Community College honors scholars, donors during Fall 2015 reception

Approximately 70 scholarship recipients and namesakes, donors and family members recently attended the Paul D. Camp Community College Fall 2015 Scholarship Reception held at the College’s Regional Workforce Development Center in Franklin.
The college has awarded 23 students with scholarships that will aid in paying for tuition and books during the fall 2015 semester. The following applicants were honored with awards:

  • Dylan Beale of Courtland-Bobby B. Worrell Scholarship
  • Jeamis Britt of Windsor-Smithfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Bonnie Burns of Franklin-Bertella C. Westbrook Memorial Scholarship for Nursing Students
  • Ellis Cofield, III of Franklin-Margaret L. Brown Education Scholarship
  • Deven Dodd of Courtland-Commonwealth Legacy Scholarship
  • Imani Edwards of Zuni-Nellie White Business Scholarship; William and Dorothy Gwaltney Scholarship; and the Smithfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Taylor Felts of Franklin-“Service Above Self” Rotary Scholarship and Cynthia S. Frierdich, RN Nursing Scholarship
  • Raegan Hasty of Carrsville-Camp to Camp Scholarship
  • Shadeejah Hunt of Franklin-Camp to Camp Scholarship
  • Jasmine Lane of Ivor-Donald C. Boyce Education Scholarship
  • LaRhonda Mabry of Courtland-40/7 Society Scholarship
  • Kyrie McLeod of Courtland-Roy and Eleanor Epps Cornwell Scholarship and Suffolk Ruritan Nursing Scholarship
  • Eryn Owen of Suffolk-City of Suffolk Early Childhood Development Scholarship and Cross Realty Career Grant
  • Joy Pallone of Capron-Shirley N. Barnes Scholarship
  • Cadrina Ralph of Suffolk-Endowed Workforce Development Scholarship
  • Jacqueline Rawlings of Suffolk-Dr. Alvin C. Rogers Endowed Scholarship
  • Patricia Reyna of Suffolk-American Association of University Women, Suffolk Branch
  • Jerrod Russell of Franklin-Perry W. Barnett Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Matthew Seaborne of Sedley-Smithfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Jessica Teter of Smithfield-Smithfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Kela’ Turner of Zuni-Smithfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Emery Weist of Franklin-Smithfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Ebony White of Chesapeake-Dean Nancy Sandberg Scholarship

Kyrie McLeod w Epps familyKyrie McLeod of Courtland, left, was awarded The Roy and Eleanor Epps Cornwell Scholarship. She is pictured with J.C. Epps Jr., Nancy Epps Bunn and Carolyn Epps, family members representing the scholarship at the reception.
Imani Edwards & familyImani Edwards of Zuni, center with certificate, received the Nellie White Business Scholarship, the William and Dorothy Gwaltney Scholarship and the Smithfield Foundation Scholarship. She is pictured with her sister, Chloe Edwards, 13; brother, Marshall Lipscomb, 15; and mother Stephanie Edwards.
“This fall, we’ve awarded 28 scholarships to 23 students, totaling more than $50,000,” said Dr. Renee Felts, interim vice president for institutional advancement and interim executive director of the PDCCC Foundation. “Through a new online tool launched last fall, we have also been able to increase our applications for scholarships to over 40 percent.”
In addition to the above fall awards, the following students enrolled in Dual Enrollment classes received Dual Enrollment Camp Opportunity Scholarships (DECOS). Those students are as follows:

  • Deja Batten of Suffolk
  • Catherine Brown of Franklin
  • Dante Copeland of Suffolk
  • Tamia Copeland of Suffolk
  • Taliyah Edwards of Suffolk
  • Emily Foster of Suffolk
  • Imani Garde of Suffolk
  • Cierra Gilmore of Suffolk
  • D’Avion Godwin of Suffolk
  • Amari Long of Franklin
  • Jevedia Martin of Suffolk
  • DeVon Morris of Suffolk
  • Wilbert Ridley of Branchville
  • Dominique Rodriguez of Suffolk
  • Dorean Seaborn of Suffolk
  • Destynie Sebrell of Franklin
  • Aaliyah Simms of Suffolk
  • Markel Smith of Suffolk
  • Paula Steward of Suffolk
  • Ja’Qwon Weaver of Suffolk

Dominique RodriguezDominique Rodriguez of Suffolk accepts a certificate for a Dual Enrollment Camp Opportunity Scholarship from PDCCC Interim President Dr. Bill Aiken.
PDCCC awards scholarships each fall and spring semester. For more information, contact the Office of Institutional Advancement at 757-569-6790.