Virginia tradesmen are required to complete continuing education courses as part of the Virginia Board of Contractors licensing process. These required courses cover new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impact on the job, general use and special equipment. Certificates of Continuing Education Units (CEUs) are recognized by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and will be issued to all licensed Virginia tradesmen upon successful completion of each class.

As of January 1, 2019, licenses must be renewed every 3 years. If a license expires in January, then any license renewed will be for three years.

Participants must bring to class a valid photo id and their tradesman license number.


OSHA 10-hour or OSHA 30-hour (Construction or General Industry)
Dates: Fall 2020
Days/Times: Tuesday – Wednesday 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
and Thursday 1:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Location: Franklin, Suffolk, Smithfield, or we come to you!
Instructor: L. Wallace
Tuition: $130 OSHA 10 or $360 OSHA 30

OSHA 10-hour training teaches you safety awareness and helps each worker recognize and reduce the risks of job site hazards. This interactive hazard recognition training is intended as an orientation to OSHA standards and covers safety and health hazards workers may ace on construction work sites.


DPOR Electrical Tradesman License Renewal
Dates: Spring 2021: April 12, 2021
Days/Times: Monday, 5:00 – 8:00 PM
Location: Camp Workforce Dev. Center, Franklin
Instructor: P. Sherman
CEU: .3 CEUs
Tuition: $125 (includes workbook)

This three-hour course covers new definitions, codes changes, general requirements, impact on the job, general use and special equipment. Electricians obtaining or renewing licenses are now required by the Virginia Board of Contractors to complete this continuing education training as part pf the licensing process. A workbook highlighting the changes is included in the cost of the class and will be distributed during the session


DPOR HVAC Tradesman License Renewal
Dates: Fall 2020: October 19, 2020
              Spring 2021: April 19, 2021
Days/Times: Thursday, 5:00 – 8:00 PM
Location: Camp Workforce Dev. Center, Franklin
Instructor: P. Sherman
CEU: .3 CEUs
Tuition: $125 (includes workbook)

This three-hour course covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impact on the job, general use and special equipment. HVAC mechanics obtaining or renewing licenses are now required by the Virginia Board of Contractors to complete this continuing education training as part of the licensing process.


DPOR Plumbers Tradesman License Renewal
Dates: Fall 2020: October 26, 2020
              Spring 2021: April 26, 2021
Days/Times: Monday, 5:00 – 8:00 PM
Location: Camp Workforce Dev. Center, Franklin
Instructor: P. Sherman
CEU:.3 CEUs
Tuition: $125 (includes workbook)

This three-hour course for plumbers covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impact on the job, general use and special equipment. Journeymen and Master Plumbers obtaining or renewing licenses are now required by the Virginia Board of Contractors to complete this continuing education as part of the licensing process.


DPOR Gas Fitters Tradesman License Renewal
Dates: Fall 2020: October 26, 2020
              Spring 2021: April 26, 2021
Days/Times: Monday, 8:00 – 9:00 PM
Location: Camp Workforce Dev. Center, Franklin
Instructor: P. Sherman
CEU: .1 CEU
Tuition: $65 (includes workbook)

The one hour class for Gas Fitters is intended for Journeymen and Master Gas Fitters, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Fitters, and Natural Gas Fitters. Gas Fitters obtaining or renewing licenses are now required by the Virginia Board of Contractors to complete continuing education as part of the licensing process. The course covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impact on the job, general use and special equipment.


For additional details regarding continuing education requirements for tradesmen, please refer to the Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.

If our class schedule does not meet your needs, you may visit the Virginia Community College System (make this a link to VCCS) for tradesman classes offered by other community colleges.

Visit Workforce Registration to apply, register, and pay for your class.

Registration Deadline for Non-credit Classes: All registration documents must be submitted by 4:00PM one (1) week prior to class start date.  Payments must be submitted by 4:00PM three (3) business days prior to class start date.

For more information, please contact Workforce Development at workforce@pdc.edu or call 757.569.6050.